Blackborow, Ostrosser win HBUA Junior / Senior Umpire of the Year; McRae Enshrined on HBUA Wall of Fame

At the recent HBUA Annual General Meeting, Matt Blackborow and Glenn Ostrosser were honoured as the recipient of the HBUA’s Dennis Aldridge Junior and Senior Umpire of the Year awards. Additionally, longtime HBUA umpire and former executive member Dave McRae was selected as the 10th inductee onto the HBUA’s Wall of Fame.


HBUA President Bill Tunney with Dennis Aldridge Junior Umpire of the Year Matt Blackborow


HBUA President Bill Tunney with Dennis Aldridge Senior Umpire of the Year Glenn Ostrosser

About the Dennis Aldridge Umpire of the Year awards: The Dennis Aldridge Umpire of the Year Award is presented to one junior and one senior umpire who go above and beyond the call of duty on the diamond, as well as working behind the scenes and promoting the values and beliefs of the HBUA. The award is named in honour of one of our brother umpires who passed away in 2006, Dennis Aldridge. Initially a separate award from the Umpire of the Year awards, the decision was made to merge the awards after its last individual award in 2009 because year after year, Dennis exemplified the true spirit of the HBUA. Each season, the HBUA will select one eligible junior and one senior umpire of the year based on accomplishments and ability demonstrated throughout the season. These umpires are carefully chosen and presented with their award at the Annual General Meeting at each year’s completion.

To see a the members of the HBUA Wall of Fame, please click here.

Congratulations Glenn!

Hello everyone,

We wish to extend our most sincere congratulations to Glenn Ostrosser who recently received the City of Hamilton Sport Volunteer of the Year Award.

Congratulations Glenn on this outstanding achievement!

Glenn and Sami Jo

AAA Minor Midge OBA Championships Final Results

After a hard fought Labour Day Weekend, the Hamilton Baseball Umpires Association would like to congratulate the Vaughan Vikings on their Provincial Champioship Victory! Below are the final tournament results from all games.

Friday Aug 31
Game 1: Brampton 6 vs Ottawa 0
Game 2: Newmarket 11 vs Tecumseh 2
Game 3: Etobicoke 4 vs Peterborough 12
Game 4: London 11 vs Oshawa 1
Game 5: Kitchener 7 vs Whitby 0
Game 6: West Toronto 0 vs Vaughan 2

Saturday Sept 2
Game 7: Ottawa 2 vs Tecumseh 3 (9 innings)
Game 8: Etobicoke 2 vs Oshawa 3
Game 9: West Toronto 2 vs Whitby 0
Game 10: Newmarket 2 vs Brampton 12
Game 11: London 7 vs Peterborough 6 (10 innings)
Game 12: Kitchener 4 vs Vaughan 6
Game 13: Oshawa 2 vs Tecumseh 14
Game 14: Newmarket 10 vs West Toronto 8
Game 15: Kitchener 3 vs Peterborough 2
Game 16: London 0 vs Vaughan 10
Game 17: Newmarket 10 vs Tecumseh 4
Game 18: London 1 vs Kitchener 11
Game 19: Brampton 18 vs Vaughan 10

Sunday Sept 2
Game 20: Kitchener 9 vs Brampton 2
Game 21: Newmarket 4 vs Vaughan 6
Game 22: Kitchener 3 vs Brampton 7
Game 23: Vaughan 4 vs Brampton 3